Skip to content

Flor de Izote con Huevo – Yucca Flowers with Scrambled Eggs

October 29, 2013

This one is a bit of an oddity, which is probably what made me so keen to cook it. I was really shocked when I moved to the South East of the UK and discovered that Yuccas seem to be pretty common garden plants around here, they are hardy desert plants so can cope with temperature extremes, but I have never seen one in a garden north of London. Yuccas are native to the Americas and taxonomically they fit in the Agave sub-family (as in Blue Agave, the Tequilla plant), many parts of the Yucca are apparently edible only in certain species, but as far as I am aware the flowers of all of them are perfectly palatable.

I ate this meal once, quite a while ago, as breakfast in the semi-desert of northern Zacatecas, Mexico, some of the guys had gathered a flower spike from near where we were staying. When I once again saw the distinctive foliage and flower spikes overhanging a wall close to my current home I decided I had to cook some. The inner stamen and fleshy parts of the plant are apparently bitter, so need to be removed before cooking. I’ve included some photos of the Yuccas I saw in Mexico as I think their strange sinuous forms really should be appreciated, they added a alien feel to an already hostile landscape, becoming especially dark and foreboding as the sun sets and the wild coyotes begin to howl.

– Recipe –

1 cup of Yucca Petals (just the petals, stigma and stamen removed) // 1 medium Onion // 1 Garlic Clove // 1 large Tomato // 1 Jalapeño Pepper // a pinch of Epazote // 2 Eggs

  1. Boil the Yucca Petals in salted Water until slightly translucent (2-5 minutes) and then drain and reserve.
  2. Finely dice the Onion, Garlic and Jalapeño and then heat a knob of Butter in a small frying pan.
  3. Add the diced vegetables to the pan and fry for 5 minutes or so until soft, roughly chop the Tomatoes and add them to the mix, fry for a further minute.
  4. Break the Eggs into a cup and lightly whisk with a little Salt, add the Yucca Petals and Epazote to the pan and then the Eggs straight after.
  5. Cook until the Eggs are done and then serve garnished how you like. I used a Salsa Fresca, Black Pepper, Radishes and Lime Juice.

Enjoy!

One Comment
  1. Looks awesomely exciting, I really want to try it! I did not know yuccas were common plants in the UK…

Leave a Reply

