Skip to content

Sausage, Lentil and Wild Garlic Casserole

May 21, 2013

I wanted comfort food, something to keep my stomach happy and full but I also wanted something seasonal. This year I haven’t started growing any fruits or vegetables and have barely used any wild food as well, basically, I’m moving house in three weeks…

There’s no time to grow any vegetables, it’s time to start ending the old things, throwing away what I don’t need, reassessing what I do need, saying goodbyes. Anyway, I wanted something comforting and fairly simple but I also wanted to use something that I had grown myself or at least picked myself… and we have a front garden full of delicious wild garlic leaves. I’d also been thinking about things we will leave behind, and this probably shows that my gastric tract does more of my thinking than my brain because I will really miss the pork and sun-dried tomato sausages from the local butcher, they are some of the best I have ever had. So here is a homage to both of those ingredients.

– Recipe –

Feeds 4-5

12 Sausages //100g Green Lentils // 1 large Onion // 3 sticks of Celery // 1 Leek // 1 Red Pepper // 1 teaspoon of fresh Thyme (leaves only) // 2 bay Leaves // 1 teaspoon of Smoked Paprika // 400g tin of Plum Tomatoes // 2-4 cups of Cider // 1 teaspoon Worcestershire Sauce // 1 tablespoon Cider Vinegar // 1 teaspoon Hot Sauce // 2 tablespoons Tomato Purée // 200g fresh Wild Garlic leaves

  1. Boil the Lentils in a pan of water for 20 minutes while grilling the Sausages until browned all over.
  2. When the sausages are ready let them cool for a while and then drain the cooked lentils.
  3. Preheat the oven to gas mark 7  (220°C, 425°F).
  4. Chop the Onion into quarters and being to fry with a tablespoon of Butter in a thick bottomed saucepan.
  5. Roughly chop and add the  Celery, Leek and Red Pepper, fry for 5 minutes.
  6. Add the Thyme and Bay Leaves; then briefly take the saucepan off the heat to add the Paprika. Add in the Sausages and Lentils and then mix in the Tomatoes, Cider (so that the solids are just covered over), Worcestershire Sauce, Cider Vinegar, Hot Sauce and Tomato Purée.
  7. Bring to the boil, place a lid on the pan and put it in the oven for 30 minutes, taking it out to stir once or twice.
  8. Chop the Wild Garlic leaves into ribbons and stir them through the casserole immediately before serving.

Serve with Mustard Mashed Potatoes and Enjoy!

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

