Skip to content

Afrutada Salsa Picante “Las Cinco Hermanas Méxicanas” – “The Five Mexican Sisters” Fruity Hot Sauce

April 24, 2012

Yesterday I got a big box of goodies from mexgrocer.co.uk a UK based stockist of Mexican food products. I have ordered from them three times so far and always get great service and today I took some pictures of this years crop of chilli plants as they are just getting to about 4″ high. I have been thinking about Chillies a lot and about what I will make with this years crops in a couple of months time (just the thought gets me salivating).

In light of this I decided I wanted to try and create a Hot Sauce where flavour is more important than heat, I feel I have a reputation as a heat lover but at the same time I feel I have already made my share of burn-your-mouth-out-and-cry-a-little style sauces already. So this time I am aiming for a heat that even my mum should be able to stomach and a flavour that will leave you wanting more. After some thought I decided to make this recipe purely by taste, keeping the idea of what I want in my mind and sampling the flavours to determine the quantities needed. I chose the specific flavour quantities with the aim of producing a mix of slight heat with earthy and fruity flavours and a sweet tone.

This has a little heat and works in a lot of situations but it would also make an ‘effing good BBQ Sauce if you up the Sugar levels and season with some Salt/Pepper.

– Recipe –

Makes roughly 900 mls

4 Chipotle chillies //  2 Cascabel Chillies // 1 Guajillo Chilli // 1 Ancho Chilli // 2 Mulato Chillies // 1 large Celery Stick //4 Shallots or 1 medium Onion // 3 Cloves of Garlic // 4 tablespoons of Tomato Paste // 5 tablespoons of Brown Sugar // 1 teaspoon of Oregano // 1/2 a teaspoon of Coffee Grounds // 1 teaspoon of Worcestershire Sauce // 3 teaspoons of Chamoy // 200 mls Cider Vinegar // 50 mls Lime Juice // 500 mls Warm Water

  1. Heat a pan, de-stem and de-seed the chillies while it warms up, keep the seeds. Toast the Chillies pressing down with a spatula until their skin changes colour and bubbles slightly (15-30 seconds per side).
  2. Rip the toasted Chillies into pieces and put in a bowl and soak in the Warm Water.
  3. Chop the vegetables and then pile all the other ingredients into the bowl of Chillies so the Chillies are pressed underwater, let soak for 20 minutes. Add the Seeds to the mix now for a hotter Sauce.
  4. Blend until smooth and strain through a sieve to separate the larger solids and seeds from the smooth sauce.
  5. Bottle while hot in sterilised bottles.

Enjoy!

From → BBQ, Dips, Mexican, Mexican

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

