Skip to content

Quince Jelly!

September 28, 2011

I made this a couple of months ago and still have a few jars left in my cupboard. The recipe is from my Grandma, she gave me Quince Jelly with Roast Chicken one time, and well, it was fantastic. Then I bought some Quince Jelly from a supermarket and it was horrible stuff, if I only had ever tasted the supermarket version I think I would have been put off for life! And then one day, I happened to be outside the physics block on the University of Exeter streatham campus, looked slightly to my side and noticed a low growing Quince Bush with the fruit literally falling off the plant and going bad, and I couldn’t let it all go to waste!

As my Grandma put it, “only a Gran would ever tell you to put chilli in Quince Jelly”, and it just happens I have never seen any other recipe with it in. You don’t want enough to make it really discernibly hot, you should more aim for the Chilli-Chocolate kind of effect, you can taste it, it’s incredibly moreish and making you salivate, but your mouth isn’t getting burned from the inside out.

I personally love having Quince with most meats, it works well with Bacon, Chicken, hard Cheeses and most things which benefit from a savoury tang, it would probably make a very nice side with a BBQ or even a Curry.

– Recipe –

Ingredients 

Weigh the Quinces you have gathered/bought

Aim for an amount of White Sugar slightly less than the amount of Quince jelly you get from stage 3 (measure in cups)

Use the zest of one Lemon for roughly every 500g of Quince

take maybe a teaspoon or so of Chili Flakes for every 500g of Quince (maybe more or less depending on how you feel about Chili!)

Water to cover

  1. Wash the Quinces and chop into largeish chunks, place in a heavy bottomed saucepan.
  2. Just cover with Water and simmer till completely soft, anywhere in the region of half an hour to an hour and a half.
  3. Mash and then let it strain through sterile muslin into another pan overnight.
  4. Put a plate in the freezer (see below) , then add the Chili Flakes and the Sugar before bringing it all to a hot boil, stirring to make sure none of it sticks to the pan.
  5. After 10 minutes on a boil, check to see if has reached setting point. Do this by taking the plate out of the freezer and putting a tiny little dab of the Jelly onto it, if it has a skin and wrinkles when you touch it after 30 seconds -1 minute on the plate, then the Jelly will set.
  6. Pour into sterile jars. It will change to a really deep amber hue after a few months!

Enjoy!

From → Jams & Preserves

3 Comments
  1. marie kirby permalink

    I made your recipe for quince jelly this afternoon. I am looking forward to seeing how it turns out. It was definitely a very unique recipe with the chili peppers! Can’t wait to try!

  2. Philippa permalink

    Thanks for this post – I love quince and chili jelly with pork or chicken or cheese. Quince and mint jelly is fabulous with lamb – I make quince jelly each year; one batch with chopped mint leaves and one with chili, but haven’t tried “cooking” the jelly with the chill/mint. I just add either chopped mint or chopped dried chill into each jar and let the flavour steep over the weeks. With my quince and chili jelly, I put a whole dried or fresh chili (pour boiling water on it first) into the jar – it looks really pretty. I will try your way this year with chili flakes cooked through – bound to have more bite 🙂 (But I will still add the whole chili at the end – so pretty)

Leave a Reply

