Skip to content

Spanish Soup – Chorizo and Green lentil

June 16, 2011

This is a delicious meal that a somebody cooked for me recently, and as it happens they sent the recipe along with a list of ingredients they wanted me to contribute, meaning I now know how to make it myself.  For various reasons, my stomach was quite weak  that night, so I could not eat as much as I wished, but here it goes, take number two and I am starving after spending half the day ill in bed and having the rest divided between the lab and my job! That night a while ago was very enjoyable and also my introduction to Alan Partridge, shock! horror! Some of my friends do not believe that a whole 21 years of life could be spent without seeing Alan Partridge, but anyway, it was a nice Saturday evening a few days before a doomsday and the recipe is completely warming and delicious, especially when feeling a little ill as I do now 🙂

– Recipe –

Feeds two or three – four or five as a starter!

1 largeish Onion, chopped

3 Cloves Garlic, crushed

1/2 a leek, chopped

200g Green Lentils

100g Carrot (optional), cubed

200g small New Potatoes, cut into bitesized chunks

300g Chorizo, in chunks

3 tablespoons Paprika

  1. Sauté the Onion, Garlic and Leek till browned a little all over, add the Green Lentils and water to cover.
  2. Rapid boil 10 minutes, simmer 10 minutes and then add the other ingredients. Simmer 20 minutes till the Potato is soft and then serve with crusty bread.

Enjoy!

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

