Skip to content

Portuguese Especial: Caldo Verde! (Green Soup)

May 19, 2011

I had this meal on my first night in Porto while heading to a dig in Foz Coa, I had picked Green Soup almost at random from the menu, I was quite afraid of ordering some sort of tripe and eggs dish, which I really did not want!, and Green Soup sounded like the safest option on the badly translated English menu the little café presented me with, alas, I speak no Portuguese…well, no Portuguese I would repeat in polite company…

It was pretty delicious and left a small green stain in my memory, I knew it was vegetable, and I knew probably green vegetables, but what? which? and for a while it faded, until I discovered this recipe and I was reunited with lovely ‘Green Soup’!

I can promise Francesinhas and Portuguese Fish Soup recipes will be coming in the near future and then maybe something with Pork and Cockles, we shall have to see…

– Recipe –

Feeds 3-4

1 Onion, chopped

2 cloves Garlic, crushed and chopped

5 medium Potatoes, in small cubes

1 Carrot (optional), chopped

100g-400g Chouriço, chopped finely (optional, the version made here is vegetarian)

1/2 a medium sized Savoy Cabbage or the rough same weight in Curly Leafed Kale, chopped very finely

  1. Fry the Onion, Garlic, Carrot and Chouriço on a high heat till the Onion is very slightly browned.
  2. Add the Potatoes, and top up with Water or Stock so everything is covered. Boil 25-30 minutes till the Potato is soft and then mash or blend the whole thing.
  3. Fill with as much Cabbage as possible and cook till it all wilts away (under ten minutes) them season with Salt and Pepper.
  4. Serve with nice Bread.

Enjoy!

One Comment
  1. No bad :), it’s unusual, to in the future …

Leave a Reply

