Skip to content

Greek style Rabbit in White Wine and Garlic Sauce.

January 21, 2011

I had never tried Rabbit before, and my local butchers sells them two for £5… So it seemed obvious to make it myself and see how it turned out (something I do pretty regularly, generally with very good results). The recipe I used was based on this one, but adapted to my own tastes a little. I claim no ownership over the recipe, but it was nice, so thats why I am posting it. To be honest, some of the changes I made simply didn’t work out as well as I hoped (I coated the Rabbit joints in Polenta before frying, it all peeled off in the oven and led to a texture that was unusual but ok, but I wasn’t too big a fan of it, so I wouldn’t do that again!

But, experimentation is how you learn, so its all good. And the recipe here is the version I would make next time after seeing the bits I feel could be improved.

Recipe:

Feeds – 6 to 8

Total time – 3 hours + (depending on Marinating time)

  • 2 Rabbits, skinned and gutted
  • Red Wine Vinegar
  • 1 cup of olive oil
  • 14 Cloves of garlic
  • 1 Green or Yellow Pepper
  • 1 / 2 a cup of white wine
  • 1 & a 1 / 2 cups of water
  • 2 tablespoons of salt
  • 2 teaspoons of pepper
  • 6 bay leaves
  • 4 tablespoons chopped fresh rosemary
  • 100 ml Lemon Juice
  1. Joint the Rabbits (instructions here, a bit graphic!), remove any giblets and wash in cold water.
  2. Tightly pack the Rabbit portions into a bowl, pour a mixture of Red Wine Vinegar, Olive Oil and Lemon Juice over the top till covered (Ratio: 7/1/2). Leave the Rabbit 2 – 24 hours, larger older Rabbits longer, smaller younger Rabbits shorter.
  3. Drain the Rabbit, discard the liquid.
  4. Cut the Garlic into slivers length-ways and the Green Pepper into chunks. Fry the Rabbit portions in batches on a high heat with some of the Oil until browned all over, remove, then fry the Garlic and Green Pepper until the Garlic begins to brown.
  5. Add the White Wine, bring to a simmer.
  6. Put the pans contents into a large casserole, add the Oil, Salt, Pepper, Herbs, White Wine.
  7. Stir, then add the  Rabbit portions.
  8. Lid over and cook on a medium heat (Gas mark 5, 190 C, 375 F) for 1 Hour after it begins to boil in the oven, add the Lemon Juice 10 minutes before the end.
  9. Serve with Rice.

Enjoy!

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

