Skip to content

Cooking Pedro’s chocolate chip & mixed nut cookies.

December 30, 2010

As it stands, I am still getting through the Christmas leftovers, they’re nearly all gone, but we are at the point were certain things will start to go off soon, so I am eating quite a lot at the moment!

As a slightly lighter alternative to the onslaught of Turkey curries and pate on toast my stomach has been facing recently, I decided to use up the mountains of chocolate coins and cashew nuts which always find their way into my and my brothers Christmas stocking with this recipe sent to me by my friend Pedro. But then I will have to get back to finishing the Turkey…

– Recipe –

1 cup salted butter, softened // 1 cup white sugar // 1 cup packed brown sugar // 2 eggs // 3 cups flour // 1 teaspoon baking soda // 2 teaspoons hot boiling water // 2 cups semisweet chocolate chipped (Tom: or leftover chocolate coins!) // 1 cup chopped walnuts, almonds, pistachio or even peanuts…Or a mix, which is what I usually use (Tom: I used leftover cashews from Christmas)

  1. Preheat oven to 175 degrees.
  2. Cream together the butter, white sugar, and brown sugar until smooth. Beat in the eggs one at a time.
  3. Dissolve baking soda in hot water. Add to batter.
  4. Stir in flour, chocolate chips, and nuts.
  5. Drop by large spoonfuls onto ungreased pans. (Tom: I varied the sizes a bit, some half the size of my head that bend and ooze chocolate when picked up and some smaller slightly crunchier ones)
  6. Bake for about 10-15 minutes (depending on size) in the preheated oven, or until edges are nicely browned.

Let them cool and then Enjoy!

From → Baking, Desserts

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

